Submitted by:Prospect

Roadside Park - US 177


Hunnewell, KS


ShareThis


This is one of the better roadside parks we've visited.  Particularly in cleanliness.

 

Approximately 1/3 acre, this roadside park offers a sheltered picnic table.  Here we stopped and relaxed for about an hour (well I relaxed by chewing on the bone and The Chauffeur got out the laptop made this his newest "auxillary" office).

 

The historical marker tells the stories of The "Real" Cherokee Strip and of Hunnewell, KS.  See the inscription text below.

Prospect's SignatureVisited November 14, 2010  12:15pm

 

North Side Monument Text:

The "Real" Cherokee Strip


Under treaties made in 1828 and 1833 with the Federal Government the Cherokee tribe of Indians exchanged their homelands in the southeastern part of the United States for land in the present north eastern Oklahoma and south eastern Kansas and a perpetual outlet west lying across southern Kansas and north eastern Oklahoma between the 96th and 100th meridians. In 1937 the Federal Government authorized Reverand Isaac McCoy to survey the boundaries of all the Cherokee land. This survey showed the northern boundary of the Cherokee domain to be the southern edge of the Osage reserved lands in the territory that became the State of Kansas, 1 E A line 2.46 miles north of the 37th parallel.


On May 30th, 1854, when the United States Congress passed the Kansas, Nebraska Act. The southern boundary of the territiory of Kansas was established at the 37th parallel, there by including a narrow strip of Cherokee land in the new territory, the Cherokee reported the matter to the secretary of interior and asked that the southern boundary of Kansas territory be so modified as to make it coincident with the northern boundary of their lands. No correction was made and in 1861 Kansas was admitted as a state.


Following the civil war the Federal Government made a treaty with the Cherokees under which the tribe ceded, in trust to the United States the 2.46 mile wide strip north of the 37th parallel and agreed that it should become part oof the State of Kansas on May 11, 1872 Congress opened the strip to the white settlers.


The Cherokee outlet is often mistakenly called the Cherokee Strip. The western limit of both tracts was 100th meridian, otherwise the two areas differed in width and length. The outlet was 226 miles long and 58 miles wide. It's eastern boundary was 96th meridian "The Strip" was 276 miles long by 2.46 miles wide. It's eastern boundary was the Neosho River. The outlet contained approximately 13,000,000 acres. The "Strip" about 435,000. After 1866 the outlet was all in Oklahoma, the "Strip" all in Kansas.


Erected by the Cher-Ok-Kan Gateway Association May 3, 1984

Committee menbers: Nancy Hope Sober, Fred Strickland, Charles W. Medley

South Side Monument Text:
 

Hunnewell
 

After the land of the "Real" Cherokee strip was offered for sale to settlers in 1872 most of the area became cropland. Great cattle drives in this vicinity ceased. Hunnewell named for the president of the first railroad into town was established in 1880 on a 400 acre townsite purchased from Robeson Stewart and Hale, it was situated on the southern edge of the strip in Kansas adjoining the boundary of the Cherokee outlet.


The first building was the outfitting store of Ford and Leonard, erected June 16, the same day the Sumner County railway a branch of the Kansas City. Lawerence and southern Kansas railroad was completed to this point. During the summer the town acquired a Doctor and a Lawyer. A hardware store and Drug store and a 33 room, three story hotel costing $5,000.00. The hotel first named Hunnewell House known as the Sante Fe Hotel and the Hale Hotel. When razed in 1939 over 70 pounds of lead was recovered from the white pine boards offering substantial proof that many a gun fight battles was enacted inside as well as outside the establishment. The depot was completed in June and the railroad track extended to te boundary of the Indian territory. A stockyard costing $7,000.00 was built in the Kansas Indian Territory. Railroad Frisco completed it's line into Hunnewell. The first railroad hired the early marshalls and a Police and Judge. Before a postoffice was established on August 20, 1880 the mail was brought from South Haven and left on the desk at the depot and everybody picked out his own letters.


In 1885 George W. Miller of the famous 101 Ranch bought six outlets containing 93 acres from Hunnewell Town Company these were used for shelters, feed storage, and cattle pens. Miller shipped green horses into Hunnewell and kept a breaking crew working year round. In the 1880's Hunnewell was a roaring cowtown in tradition of the earlier shipping centers. The local newspaper reported in 1889 that the Santa Fe shipped 762 laods of cattle and the Frisco 749 loads.


When the Cherokee outlet was opened in September 1893 Registration Booth No. 8 was setup here. Every incoming train added hundreds to the thong of approximately 15 thousand that had gathered to make the run. Several gambling houses and five or six saloons flourished most prospective settlers brought food, but a barrel of ice water brought $25 to $30. On Sept 16, horses and vehicles, three and four deep was amassed along the starting line.


The Trail outfit is entering Hunnewell
The candles are lit in Hale Hotel
There will be music and dancing all through the night
Courting and loving until the break of daylight
  - From the old "Cimmeron" by H.H. Halsell

Roadside Park - US 177


Move cursor over image to enlarge and show map location.
Click on an image to view full screen images.
  • Dog Photo #1 from Roadside Park - US 177
  • Dog Photo #2 from Roadside Park - US 177
  • Dog Photo #3 from Roadside Park - US 177
  • Dog Photo #4 from Roadside Park - US 177
  • Dog Photo #5 from Roadside Park - US 177
  • Dog Photo #6 from Roadside Park - US 177

Roadside Park - US 177


Roadside Park - US 177

Mouseover point title to show map location

Roadside Park - US 177


Login to post a comment

© 2011 K9RoadTrip.com
Legal Notice, Terms, and Conditions